USA men’s Olympic hockey roster unveiled – The Athletic

January 13, 2022Updated 6:59 PM EST

USA Hockey has unveiled the 25 players who will represent their country for the upcoming Beijing 2022 Winter Olympics. Fourteen forwards, eight defensemen and three goalies were selected to the team, which includes 13 NHL prospects and six players with NHL experience.

Below are the 25 players selected for Team USA:


  • Nick Abruzzese (Harvard, NCAA) — Toronto
  • Kenny Agostino (Torpedo, KHL)
  • Matty Beniers (Michigan, NCAA) — Seattle
  • Brendan Brisson (Michigan, NCAA) — Vegas
  • Noah Cates (Minnesota-Duluth, NCAA) — Philadelphia
  • Sean Farrell (Harvard, NCAA) — Montreal
  • Sam Hentges (St. Cloud State, NCAA) — Minnesota
  • Matthew Knies (Minnesota, NCAA) — Toronto
  • Marc McLaughlin (Boston College, NCAA)
  • Ben Meyers (Minnesota, NCAA)
  • Andy Miele (Torpedo, KHL)
  • Brian O’Neill (Jokerit, KHL)
  • Nick Shore (Novosibirsk, KHL)
  • Nathan Smith (Minnesota State) — Winnipeg



  • Drew Commesso (Boston University, NCAA) — Chicago
  • Strauss Mann (Skelleftea, SHL)
  • Pat Nagle (Lehigh Valley, AHL)

Knies, Beniers, Faber, Sanderson and Commesso were set to compete for Team USA at the 2022 world juniors when the tournament was canceled due to a COVID-19 outbreak. O’Neill represented Team USA at the 2018 Olympics in PyeongChang.

The team will play under head coach David Quinn and general manager John Vanbiesbrouck, who were appointed by Team USA at the end of December.

USA’s men’s hockey team last won Olympic gold at the 1980 winter games in Lake Placid — the “Miracle on Ice.” Team USA will play in a group with Canada, Germany and host China.

(Photo of Matty Beniers: EyesWideOpen / Getty Images)